Compiled and reviewed by Bazaarvoice™

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.

Average Rating: (3.7 out of 5)
14 reviewed Intercultural Studies in Peru
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
  1. Peru: Excellent Educational experience

    The trip provided an overall history of South America that is very rarely shared in the public school system of the northeast. The Peru experience not only provided the participants a historical view of a country and its people, but showed the economic impact of the nation on the regions we visited.

    Overall the trip was very good, and the participants were satisfies with the hotels, travel, and sites we visited. The only area that could improve is the food selectins at some of the local establishments we visited.
    Pirat / Group leader
    Rochester, NH / Posted on March 19, 2018
  2. Lovely country

    Peru is a lovely country with beautiful caring people. Our tour guides were compassionate, considerate and loving. Would definitely recommend this to a friend - young and old alike.
    City1 / Parent
    Palmer, AK / Posted on March 26, 2017
  3. AdventureLover

    Peru is an amazing country and this trip was pure adventure. If you're reading the early reviews, please know that EF has fixed many of the issues mentioned. Our hotels ranged from decent to excellent. There were a few instances of luke-warm showers but for the most part, hot water was plentiful. Food was delicious. Yes, there was still quite a bit of chicken and rice but it was not bland and we had a variety of other food options. The schedule and pace of travel were good. Our tours were on time and all but one of the local guides was engaging.

    Our tour director was excellent. He took us on trails I felt like most people don't see. Our hike down the mountain at the salt mine was one of the most beautiful moments of the trip. He was flexible, funny, and always quick to take care of any issues. As a result, we had an excellent experience.

    My only wish was that we could have spent two nights in Machu Picchu instead of one. There is so much to see and do that one day just didn't feel like enough.

    Don't forget sunscreen. A big floppy hat is essential. The sun is very strong across all of Peru. Hiking poles are also recommended but not on EF's packing list.

    I would take this trip again and I usually prefer not to visit the same place twice!
    AdventureLover / Other traveler
    Norman, OK / Posted on June 16, 2016
  4. Fabulous Tour

    My experience was fantastic! All parts of the tour exceeded my expectations! The tour of Peru including Lima, Cuzco, the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu were terrific! The hotels and restaurants were lovely and the food delicious. The educational talks by the tour directors and local guides were informative and often eye openers. The tour directors were very friendly, informed, competent, and took very good care of the group and individuals.

    The country is beautiful and the people are friendly. The particular season of the visit, end of May, provided perfect weather.

    One piece of advice: Always take the trip insurance, because you do not know when or which piece you may need. It is inexpensive compared to the needs it covers. It prevents a terrific trip from being ruined.
    PeruMay / Other traveler
    Houston, TX / Posted on June 09, 2016
  5. NOTE;

    EF CHANGED OUR TRAVEL DATE,AFTER WE SIGN UP FOR THE TOUR. WE ARRIVED ON A MONDAY, A DAY MUSEUMS ARE CLOSED, INCLUDING THE ARCHEOLOGICAL MUSEUM, WE MISSED ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHT OF THIS TRIP.
    We stayed at Hostals ONLY - not 3 Star Hotels, as expected, and may be a Hostal
    Rooms, were 5 to a room, isntead of 2 o3, to a room, not just students !!!!,
    I paid extra for a private room.
    In Machu Picchu, the room was so small I could barely move, between the bed and the in wall- closet, with no space for night stand or even a chair, to put the alarm clock !!!!!
    Ventilation to the room,an open rectangle in the bathroom, facing main hall way, every time any one walked,to or left their room, it made loud noise.
    In Lima our Hostal served breakfast in a garage, with the car parked next to our tables!!!I took a picture to prove it,
    In Cusco, the room was so cold, it was difficult to get out of bed, to a freezing room, hot water shower was a good way to warm up,then, dressing in a cold room was very uncomfortable.
    Transportation,and other logistics, should beorganized more efficiently, there was a waste of time.
    Food was frugal.
    Brakfast, was fair.
    one place had fresh fruit, and cereals.
    dinner when included,consisted of a thin,flat slice of chicken, pan fried, mostly cold, cold plain boiled rice, and cold french fries, almost every meal.
    My experience was not unique, our tour group leader call the EF, emergency hot line to make some needed remarks.
    Students deserve better !!!!! and so do all traveleres.
    Mirna / Other traveler
    Western Kentucky / Posted on July 06, 2012
  6. Peru experience

    The tour leaving date was changed and therefore we did not get to go to the museum in Lima Peru. This could have been accomplished by leaving earlier from Cusco but our leaving time was too late to allow this on Sunday the night we were flying home. The first day in Cusco we did not start on the tours till 3:00 pm. This was due to a mixup in the airport and a lunch resturant that was very inefficient. This meant we were at the Sacsayhuaman site at 5:30 pm and were unable to tour the site due to darkness. This tour should have been rescheduled for another day. And then we went shopping instead to supper. By the time supper happened I had a terrific headache. Our second day was a great train trip to Machu Picchu. But, our day at Machu Picchu did not allow enough time to walk to the Sun Gate. The tour by our guide was great but if we had spent the night in Aguas Calientes prior to the Machu Picchu tour that would have allowed those who wanted to wake up early to have enough time to walk to the Sun Gate early in the morning and still allow time for the tour. Most days we did not leave on time and then we were pushed to see many of the sites without enough time. Our guide did make arrangements for us to see the parade of Corpus Christe. She tried to organize the group but it was too large of a group. For the sites we were seeing this tour group was too large. EF should not schedule a tour group that cannot fit on one bus. For Cusco this should be a smaller group. I knew we were a group of 30 but did not realize that we would be combined with two other groups that increased the size to 42. Also the food was for the most part so so. We ate at the hotel two nights and at the same restaurant two nights in Lima. We had the same meals each time so there was little variety. Part of seeing the country is having the local food. We had a small group that skipped supper one night and that was a good decision. I would not recommend this schedule. I would not recommend this tour.
    RePeat / Other traveler
    Paducah, KY / Posted on June 24, 2012
  7. Peru Trip

    It is important for anyone to try and experience another culture, if only to appreciate one's own more fully. Dances, music, food, history and transportation are all part of the journey, and when taken as a whole, the result is an awesome experience. However, there were many problems with each of these parts, and when examined individually, the quality of the overall tour becomes lessened. Missed flights, hotel bookings of five in a room, low-quality nutrition, coming back past midnight and having to be ready to go the next morning at 6am, room heaters that didn't work - it's the little things like these that affect the overall quality of the tour. Earlier, I had taken a tour with another study abroad tour group, and I found the quality of that tour to exceed EF's tour to Peru. The meals provided at the various restaurants often were substandard, often consisting of chicken, rice, and French fries: that's it! One room I was in was very cold and lacked any kind of hot shower. This is all secondary, however, as the overall experience was something one will remember for the rest of one's life. Suggest an EF executive actually take this tour to understand the nature of this complaint. Thank you for this opportunity!
    Warrior / Student traveler
    Posted on June 21, 2012
  8. Machu Picchu

    The trip to Machu Picchu is a once in a lifetime experience, and the place itself attracted 30 travelers to join my group. EF needs to rethink this tour and its organization and standards. The tour was poorly organized with minimal time in each location. Plan on consistently late transportation and extremely poor hotels. Our hotel was "open-air" and the rooms had no heat in 35 degree nights. While tour guide books tout gastronomical wonders in Peru, do not expect anything of that from the meals. Plan on small quantity and poor quality. We ate small amounts of chicken and rice 4 days in a row out of 7 days in Peru.
    QueenB / Group leader
    Paducah Kentucky / Posted on June 20, 2012
  9. Peru an aaww experience

    Amazing experience, really different to other south american countries. The people were not the friendliest but seeing machu pichu made the trip well worth it. The accommodations were not the greatest so if you are a picky traveler this is not the trip for you. Overall I would recommend this trip to any adventurer out there.
    Yesi / Student traveler
    Los Angeles, CA / Posted on January 23, 2012
  10. Spiritual Expirence

    A must do for anyone young or old. The knowlege gained is valuable. A gracious country and culture.
    Tamm / Student traveler
    Tekonsha, Michigan / Posted on January 09, 2012

Interested in this program?

Or do you want to explore other options?