Compiled and reviewed by Bazaarvoice™

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.

Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
25 reviewed Paris: The City Experience
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. Love every bit of it

    I loved every single thing that we did from going to Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tower. I really loved the free time we were giving it allowed us to explore by ourselves without the group leader.
    LoveTexas / Student traveler
    Texas / Posted on March 18, 2018
  2. Wonderful time in Paris

    We experienced nearly perfect tour. The first day was tough because of our inability to sleep on the plane. Nevertheless, we soldiered on and may have been awake nearly 40 hours straight.

    We quickly learned to use the Metro and the bus system. During that first day we saw much, ate well, and got to know our tour director better. She quickly enlightened us to the problem of young pickpockets throughout Paris and told us how to avoid their tactics.

    Notre Dame was incredible, even for those who already knew its history. The tour director finished that part of the tour by explaining much of the symbolism of the carvings over the front door.

    Touring the Marais included eating delicious ice cream followed by a visit to the Shoah Museum. Our director pointed out historical plaques from WWII.

    Touring Paris by bus the next day saved our legs some. We saw the Arc de Triomphe, the Eiffel Tower, and the Louvre. We also ate outside for lunch.

    A river cruise on the Seine marked the beginning of our next day. Everyone should take such a cruise. It makes Paris more intelligible.

    During the tour we had many chances to break off on our own to pursue individual pursuits. Some went to the Musee D'Orsay, dedicated to Impressionism, or stayed longer at the Flea Market, or dined on favorite foods.

    Versailles! OMG! What was Louis XIV thinking? How could any one person devote so much luxury to so few. Of course, Louis XVI paid the price for that extravagance. No pictures can prepare anyone for the size and majesty of Versailles. We learned much from our guide too.

    We were surprised by the tour of the perfume factory and store. Many of us now smell better!

    Our director was so accommodating and flexible. One of her best calls was the one-man show: How to act like a Parisian in One Hour. Hilarious.

    Two of our group rented bicycles. They are available all around Paris at a cheap price. Good to be young.

    The Flea Market was also a hit. Lots of everything available from furniture to old post cards.

    Walking up to Montparnasse was worth the hike. If nothing else, the view was spectacular.

    We concluded the tour by viewing Paris at dusk from one of its tallest buildings.

    The only recommendations we'd make is that it would be nice to know how much to budget for meals and extra events. We'd also like to have a choice of food at EF inclusive meals.
    DrEPK49 / Group leader
    Magnolia, AR / Posted on May 17, 2017
  3. Hard of Hearing

    This tour was an amazing experience. I had never been out of the country before, and this tour was a great way to start what will hopefully be a life-long series of adventures. I loved visiting the museums and cathedrals and seeing the cities themselves. There was a great balance between planned activities and free time for myself and other students to explore the cities and experience things on our own. The only issue I had with the entire trip was the additional tour guides we had for bus tours and the palace of Versailles. The issue I had was that it was difficult to hear and understand them, thus decreasing the amount of information I could acquire. However, these issues were rarely the fault of the guides. Rather, it was most commonly due to technological malfunctions such as microphones or headsets not functioning properly. Overall, the experience was irreplaceable and incredible. I loved every second of it.
    NewAdventurer / Student traveler
    Eldridge, Iowa / Posted on May 31, 2016
  4. Once in a lifetime

    This tour was absolutely incredible. Everything about the city, and tour sites, were awe-inspiring, and I definitely miss it. Having a tour director made the trip stress free; we did not have to worry about buses, tickets, or the metro as it was taken care of. This allowed for our group to focus on learning what we came to learn, and experiencing the culture and city too. I loved it.
    Boss / Student traveler
    Posted on May 29, 2016
  5. Great trip

    Our tour director was incredibly kind and professional. The tour guide selected for our small group excursion to the Somme was great. It was mainly nice to have tickets and transportation booked at a reasonable price. However, I think the most enjoyable parts were when we were off on our own with our professor because he was incredibly knowledgable about Paris already.
    duchess722 / Student traveler
    Posted on May 29, 2016
  6. Awesome experience !

    I was with a group from SCC in Ohio. It was absolutely an amazing time. We saw so many neat things did a simple cooking class, champagne tour in Remis, Palace of Versailles, perfume museum, wine museum(which we were the first group to go through and our picture is on their website). M&W were two of our amazing tour guides. M helped us learn to use the metro with ease, and was always there when we needed her assistance. The cooking class could have been a little more challenging since most of us were culinary students.
    Vino / Student traveler
    Greenville,Ohio / Posted on May 16, 2016
  7. Words cannot express..

    Like in my title, words cannot express how much I adored this trip. I would highly encourage knowing the basics of the french language, because it's a great way to interact at least a little with the Parisian people! :)
    Geo509 / Student traveler
    Walla walla, WA / Posted on March 29, 2016
  8. Paris in 5 Days

    For a whirlwind tour to see most of the most famous sights in Paris- this was the tour to take. Included was the Arc de Triomphe, Louvre, Notre Dame, Montmartre, Montparnasse Tower, Champs-Elysess, Eiffel Tower, Luxembourg Gardens, the Latin Quarter- there were more, I just can't think of them all. The side trip to Giverny to see Monet's Gardens was well worth the extra expense. Each of the guides was very knowledgeable and our main guide was excellent. There were several walking tours to get up close and personal with the sights and smells of the city. Exhausting but well worth it. Plus all those extra calories expended helped to offset the extra glass of wine or croissant consumed.
    If you wanted to take things slowly, spend more time or just relax, this was not the tour for you. My only complaint would be that I didn't have the time I wanted to shop! I had to spend my last 80 Euros at the airport.
    I understand when trying to seat 50 for lunch or dinner that there are not many options but I often felt rushed to get to the next place instead of being able to enjoy the meal. A smaller group would have improved the logistics of the tour.
    I did appreciate the Metro passes that were included. Figuring out the Metro was FUN!
    I'm not sure I would travel again with this tour group as we were paired with a larger, younger crowd. Our group of older (50+ years old) folks had different ideas of how fast to move and what was important to see. But I think for the college aged crowd, the fast pace and far reaching exposure of what was experienced was more appropriate. Plus when you're a bit older, it's nice to spend a bit more money (which by then you may have) and stay in a better part of town, at a nicer hotel and eat at nicer restuarants.
    LeMaHa / Other traveler
    Sacramento, CA / Posted on May 19, 2015
  9. Very fun

    I had an awesome time and for someone who really loves the city, this is the tour for them.
    Ann88 / Student traveler
    Dayville, CT / Posted on March 21, 2015
  10. An adventure

    Paris is all that they depict it and more. It's a place lousy with culture and photo opportunities. Whether you're walkung through Notre Dame or shopping near the Arc de Triumph, it's an experience to remember. New friends, new food and now new memories...I'd sign up for the same trip again, in a heartbeat.
    chan / Student traveler
    Posted on March 06, 2015

Interested in this program?

Or do you want to explore other options?