Compiled and reviewed by Bazaarvoice™

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.

Average Rating: (4.8 out of 5)
17 reviewed Urban Environments & Culture in Japan
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Awesome Experience

    I had an absolutely fantastic experience! Our guide was very knowledgeable about what she was talking about and was a sweetheart. We had decent amounts of free time everywhere we went. I would recommend this trip to anyone and cannot wait for my next one!
    Katherine / Student traveler
    Weber City, VA / Posted on June 13, 2018
  2. Land of the Rising Sun

    I cannot say enough good things about this trip. It was so much fun! It was beautiful scenery, our guide was incredible, and the food was wonderful. We had great weather the whole time, and we had enough time to look around plus free time to wander in areas we would like to return to in the various cities we visited. I'd love to go back to Kyoto. I fell in love with the city.
    / Other traveler
    Baltimore, MD / Posted on May 31, 2015
  3. What a trip

    With travelling again at the front of my thoughts I wanted to take a look back at the tours I've done so far. I realized I haven't added any reviews to my trips and I figured I'd at least write one for my favorite.
    I might be a little bias as I've always wanted to go to Japan but I just want to say this was a fantastic tour and Yumi, our tour director, did an amazing job of leading us through only a small part of this amazing country. Her willingness to listen to our questions, provide assistance and guidance, and help us truly experience the culture.
    The only downside to the trip was the lack of "freedom" some felt during the trip. There seemed to be an abundance of supervision that many of the travellers, who were new to being abroad, weren't exactly pleased with. However, being in Japan is not like being in Europe, where the language and cultural barrier can be wider than ever before and where you can't read many of the characters, let alone understand what they mean. I found this to be acceptable and was ultimately appreciative that it was out of concern of our well-being.
    Needless to say this trip was a blast. We got to enjoy Japan, both the old and the new and each time we left a city or town I was saddened to go. We visited Osaka, Tokyo, Kyoto and Hiroshima and I can't wait to go back again someday!
    Ryodu / Other traveler
    Baltimore, MD / Posted on January 28, 2015
  4. Fantastic Journey

    I went to Japan with my family and it was one of the most beautiful and meaningful trips I have ever taken. It was well organized and we saw more in our short time there than most people who live in Japan have seen in a life time. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Thank you EF for such a fantastic time. I learned and saw so much and would do it again!!!!!
    Shorty / Other traveler
    Albuquerque, New Mexico / Posted on November 14, 2010
  5. great view

    The view from the window of each hotel showed us Japan in so many ways! Each stop was unique in area and style and students loved it. It was easy enough to get around and our tour guide went out of his way to help us and show us places we wanted to go that were not listed. This experience has helped the students to see the world in a different way as well as to climb their own mountain of learning!
    Thank you for a great trip!!
    essie5 / Group leader
    Holland, Michigan / Posted on November 01, 2010
  6. Unforgettable

    The tour guide was very helpful in immersing me into the Japanese culture - which I had always been interested in. The scenery of Japan in itself was what made the trip most worth it - cherry blossom trees and shrines everywhere. Local markets with eclectic foods I had never tried. It was so worth the trip.
    Livvy / Student traveler
    San Diego, CA / Posted on October 26, 2010
  7. Expanding Horizons

    My younger brother is a very stay-at-home person, so I was very suprised when he decided to go to Japan. Over all I am very glad he went. He learned so much that he took weeks to tell me eveything he saw and how much it impressed him. He told me the tour guide was very friendly and helpfull. He enjoyed the food, the places he stayed, and the wonderful culture.
    On my part I was pleased with how quickly we recieved the information we needed, how organized the trip was, and what a good opportunity it was for my brother (who is planning to move to Japan now)!
    Ellen / Parent
    Grand Junction, Colorado / Posted on October 25, 2010
  8. BEST TRIP OF MY LIFE!

    I had the best experience on the Japan: Land of the Rising Sun trip! I wouldn't have wanted to take it with anyone but EF! Everything was very organized and we had such an amazing tour guide. I learned so much by going on this trip, and I will never forget it. This trip was once in a lifetime and I definitely would LOVE to travel again with EF Tours!
    BEAV / Student traveler
    Harrisburg, NC / Posted on October 25, 2010
  9. life-changing!

    Our students were introduced to two different cultures-the Japanese and colleges from other parts of the US. Our tour was simply fabulous-everything EF promised and more. The in-country guide was knowledgable and humorous. The places we visited were spectaculr, but the free time was even better-meeting and visiting with the Japanese people themselves. Thank you for a life-changing experience.
    Kayte / Group leader
    Great Falls, MT / Posted on October 25, 2010
  10. Summer in Japan

    This tour was amazing! Within ten days, I felt like I had an intense, well-balanced cultural experience. I loved seeing so many sights in cities across the country and sampling traditional dishes. I also enjoyed having time set aside for me to explore on my own, or to just rest up between touring. Our guide was both friendly and knowledgeable, and I felt like I learned a lot. Overall, it was a great experience, and given the chance, I would definitely do another!
    Traveler / Student traveler
    Reading, PA / Posted on October 23, 2010

Interested in this program?

Or do you want to explore other options?