Compiled and reviewed by Bazaarvoice™

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.

Average Rating: (4.3 out of 5)
20 reviewed The Alps: Germany & Switzerland
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
  1. Interesting Experience

    The experience of the trip was good. It was different, I wanted to try something new. I enjoyed learning about the culture and traveling. The tour however I believed could have been set up better and more prepared. Majority of the trip, everyone was sleep deprived. The day of arriving (7 hours difference), we had to carry our luggage around and still had manage to stay awake on the tour. We didn’t go to our hotels until the night. And it made it very difficult to learn while very sleep deprived. Everyone slept on the tour bus even if it was little as 30 minutes. We all had to wake up early and come back late every day. One of the hotels was really bad. The whole bathroom floor was flooded. The hotel had no AC. The rooms were really small and stuffy (to the point where a classmate left and went to buy another room in a different hotel because they felt claustrophobic). Even the instructor left the hotel for another because they did not like it there. And for myself the door for my room got jammed and I got locked out of my room while my roommate got locked in. It was very worrisome and the worker at the hotel didn’t know what to do and was so disorganized. They almost opened a room that was already filled with guests, that’s how disorganized they were. They thought the rooms were empty. There were no other rooms available and I was left to sleep on the uncomfortable couch in the lobby (creepy long dark hallway). Where other guests (strangers) walked past me and could have easily stolen my belongings on the ground. It was very unpleasant at that time. I paid for this expensive trip to have a bed every night and was not granted it. The trip was nice and new to me and different. Just those downsides were very unpleasant.
    / Student traveler
    Cerritos, CA / Posted on October 08, 2018
    Christian, President of EF College Study Tours
    EF College Study Tours

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your program. I’m sorry to hear that the hotels on tour did not meet your expectations and apologize that you feel that it was too rushed. We always strive to provide the best experience for our travelers and would love to connect with you to hear more about your concerns. Please feel free to give us a call at 877-485-4184 or email me at christian@ef.edu.

  2. Places not Memories

    The trip to Germany and the Swiss Alps was an entertaining experience thanks to our amazing tour guide Matthias. Since he was from Berlin, Germany, he was able to always help us pronounce words and phrases to soak us into the culture in Germany and it made the tour the reason it was good. Regardless of Matthias's work though, the planning of the length and time in those selected locations heavily needs to be reevaluated. In the places that we visited (Neuschwanstein Castle, Heidelburg, the Swiss Alps, Luzern, practicially all places but Munich) there was plenty of opportunities to soak in the true culture of each of these different places, but we never were truly able to have that experience besides Munich (since we stayed there 3 days). I feel the Germany and Swiss Alps trip was a overall good trip, I just wish that we could've settled down and actually explored each destination a little more instead of getting there, seeing what we need to see, and then right back onto the bus.

    Regardless, thank you so very much for the Germany and Swiss Alps trip that you provided and I will be looking back into a trip like your's in the future once I'm done with college.
    Newberry / Student traveler
    Charleston, South Carolina / Posted on May 29, 2018
  3. Best trip of my life!

    My 12 days in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland went far beyond my expectations and I couldn't be happier that I chose to go on this journey! Each destination was absolutely beautiful and I learned things about the countries and their histories that I could never learn in a classroom. Never were we bored or disappointed. Every single minute was worth it! I would recommend this trip to EVERYONE who has ever considered traveling!
    MegO / Student traveler
    Corning, NY / Posted on September 09, 2017
  4. Wonderful Experience

    Our tour guide was rude in the beginning but as we went on with our tour she had a change in attitude and she was very knowledgable and very helpful. My first EF Tour was overall amazing.
    / Student traveler
    Pennellville NY / Posted on June 21, 2017
  5. The hills are alive!

    What an incredible trip and experience this was for all involved, from our students to all of us chaperones. Kudos to the EF staff all the way around. Superb job! The hotel accommodations were fantastic and well placed/situated around the cities and destinations we were traveling to and from, and in and out of. We were able to see so much in 12 days and explore four different countries in total: Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland. We flew into Frankfurt, Germany and traveled to Rothenburg, Germany right away, where we spent two wonderful nights. The three nights to follow were spent in Munich, Germany. Our last day in Munich, some of us traveled to Salzburg, Austria, the birth place of Mozart and the backdrop to "The Sound of Music." The salt mine tour and the views were absolutely breathtaking! The next two nights we stayed in Switzerland and on our way made a stop at the Neuschwanstein Castle, the castle of the "Mad King." Our final day in Switzerland we had a lovely tour across the lake in Lucerne, then traveled up Mount Pilatus to be in the heart of the Alps, and ended the night with a traditional Swiss folklore dinner, yodeling and all. We traveled to Heidelberg the next day and saw the Rhine Falls, and then spent our final two nights in Boppard, Germany, where we traveled to Koblenz and Cologne. Two highlights of the trip were: 1.) the Swiss Alps - breathtaking, awe inspiring, and just amazing to be able to experience Europe through its scenery high up in the hills of Switzerland, and 2.) our visit to Dachau - to be able to experience this piece of WWII history and the Holocaust, so that we never forget "to honor the dead and warn the living."
    TDubbs / Other traveler
    Keuka Park, NY / Posted on June 19, 2017
  6. I loved it!

    Amazing experience!
    Carley / Student traveler
    Indiana / Posted on June 14, 2017
  7. A Beautiful Dream

    First our tour guide Mathias. You sent the right man for the job! His historical and cultural knowledge of the cities we would visit added such an important educational perspective to our trip; one I never expected to receive.
    Just the right mix of structured and free time in any given city we visited. I never felt rushed or looking at my watch waiting for a common group meeting time.
    One note for you regarding the lodging. Perhaps you could consult with the operators on menu choices for an American group. I saw very few vegetables and even fewer fresh fruits in our meals. One dinner (after a very busy day) consisted of warm vegetable broth (I think it was supposed to be soup) paired with macaroni/potato chunks in a weak cheese sauce. Some of our group sought meals outside the hotel.
    Chuck / Other traveler
    palmer ma / Posted on June 10, 2017
  8. Could be Great. Needs a Few Tweaks

    Overall, the trip was good. It could be great. Our group really liked our Tour Director, the cruise on the Rhine River, Munich, and the visit to Mt. Rigi. The primary concerns were that we felt rushed in a number of locations -- Dachau, Salzburg, & Heidelberg in particular -- and would have loved more time to explore these locations. One suggestion was that the extension be used to allow more time in these locations rather than seeing more cities. The other concern was over the food. We were really expecting to sample regional/local German cuisine. We were served spaghetti/pasta on three of the nights in which dinner was included. In one case, the spaghetti dinner was of very poor quality. This was the most commonly reported complaint and should be easy to improve in future trips. Overall, I would recommend the trip to others. This just wasn't as amazing as a previous EF trip had been.
    Momma / Group leader
    Greenville, PA / Posted on June 02, 2016
  9. An Experience to cherish!!!

    This trip has been a favorite in its own right. The places visited, the activities in which we were involved, and the great Tour Director made this trip one to remember for years. Thank you!!!
    Eddie / Group leader
    Statesville, North Carolina / Posted on May 27, 2016
  10. Tour of Southern Germany and Lucern, Switzerland

    Cities toured: Rothenburg, Munich and Heidelberg, Germany. Salzburg, Austria. Luzern, Switzerland. Side tours of a salt mine, Dachau, Neuschwanstein Castle, Mount Reina, the Rheinfalls and a clock factory.
    It has been a few years since I have traveled so I was pleased with this tour what with having the plane tickets and hotels all planned.
    All of the food was good for the meals included with the tour. We got spoiled at our first overnight hotel with a great supper and outstanding breakfast prior to our departure.
    March can bring some wintery weather but we had good luck and most people were prepared.
    The downer of every distant tour is of the travel time required to reach your destination. And the airport security checks were not fun.
    All-in-all we had a good group of people to tour with, an excellent tour guide and interesting sights to see. I would have liked more (or less) time in some of the cities but that may just be my preference.
    cbinsd / Parent
    Springfield SD / Posted on March 14, 2016

Interested in this program?

Or do you want to explore other options?