Compiled and reviewed by Bazaarvoice™

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.

Average Rating: (4.4 out of 5)
18 reviewed The Alps: Germany & Switzerland
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
  1. Best trip of my life!

    My 12 days in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland went far beyond my expectations and I couldn't be happier that I chose to go on this journey! Each destination was absolutely beautiful and I learned things about the countries and their histories that I could never learn in a classroom. Never were we bored or disappointed. Every single minute was worth it! I would recommend this trip to EVERYONE who has ever considered traveling!
    MegO / Student traveler
    Corning, NY / Posted on September 09, 2017
  2. Wonderful Experience

    Our tour guide was rude in the beginning but as we went on with our tour she had a change in attitude and she was very knowledgable and very helpful. My first EF Tour was overall amazing.
    / Student traveler
    Pennellville NY / Posted on June 21, 2017
  3. The hills are alive!

    What an incredible trip and experience this was for all involved, from our students to all of us chaperones. Kudos to the EF staff all the way around. Superb job! The hotel accommodations were fantastic and well placed/situated around the cities and destinations we were traveling to and from, and in and out of. We were able to see so much in 12 days and explore four different countries in total: Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland. We flew into Frankfurt, Germany and traveled to Rothenburg, Germany right away, where we spent two wonderful nights. The three nights to follow were spent in Munich, Germany. Our last day in Munich, some of us traveled to Salzburg, Austria, the birth place of Mozart and the backdrop to "The Sound of Music." The salt mine tour and the views were absolutely breathtaking! The next two nights we stayed in Switzerland and on our way made a stop at the Neuschwanstein Castle, the castle of the "Mad King." Our final day in Switzerland we had a lovely tour across the lake in Lucerne, then traveled up Mount Pilatus to be in the heart of the Alps, and ended the night with a traditional Swiss folklore dinner, yodeling and all. We traveled to Heidelberg the next day and saw the Rhine Falls, and then spent our final two nights in Boppard, Germany, where we traveled to Koblenz and Cologne. Two highlights of the trip were: 1.) the Swiss Alps - breathtaking, awe inspiring, and just amazing to be able to experience Europe through its scenery high up in the hills of Switzerland, and 2.) our visit to Dachau - to be able to experience this piece of WWII history and the Holocaust, so that we never forget "to honor the dead and warn the living."
    TDubbs / Other traveler
    Keuka Park, NY / Posted on June 19, 2017
  4. I loved it!

    Amazing experience!
    Carley / Student traveler
    Indiana / Posted on June 14, 2017
  5. A Beautiful Dream

    First our tour guide Mathias. You sent the right man for the job! His historical and cultural knowledge of the cities we would visit added such an important educational perspective to our trip; one I never expected to receive.
    Just the right mix of structured and free time in any given city we visited. I never felt rushed or looking at my watch waiting for a common group meeting time.
    One note for you regarding the lodging. Perhaps you could consult with the operators on menu choices for an American group. I saw very few vegetables and even fewer fresh fruits in our meals. One dinner (after a very busy day) consisted of warm vegetable broth (I think it was supposed to be soup) paired with macaroni/potato chunks in a weak cheese sauce. Some of our group sought meals outside the hotel.
    Chuck / Other traveler
    palmer ma / Posted on June 10, 2017
  6. Could be Great. Needs a Few Tweaks

    Overall, the trip was good. It could be great. Our group really liked our Tour Director, the cruise on the Rhine River, Munich, and the visit to Mt. Rigi. The primary concerns were that we felt rushed in a number of locations -- Dachau, Salzburg, & Heidelberg in particular -- and would have loved more time to explore these locations. One suggestion was that the extension be used to allow more time in these locations rather than seeing more cities. The other concern was over the food. We were really expecting to sample regional/local German cuisine. We were served spaghetti/pasta on three of the nights in which dinner was included. In one case, the spaghetti dinner was of very poor quality. This was the most commonly reported complaint and should be easy to improve in future trips. Overall, I would recommend the trip to others. This just wasn't as amazing as a previous EF trip had been.
    Momma / Group leader
    Greenville, PA / Posted on June 02, 2016
  7. An Experience to cherish!!!

    This trip has been a favorite in its own right. The places visited, the activities in which we were involved, and the great Tour Director made this trip one to remember for years. Thank you!!!
    Eddie / Group leader
    Statesville, North Carolina / Posted on May 27, 2016
  8. Tour of Southern Germany and Lucern, Switzerland

    Cities toured: Rothenburg, Munich and Heidelberg, Germany. Salzburg, Austria. Luzern, Switzerland. Side tours of a salt mine, Dachau, Neuschwanstein Castle, Mount Reina, the Rheinfalls and a clock factory.
    It has been a few years since I have traveled so I was pleased with this tour what with having the plane tickets and hotels all planned.
    All of the food was good for the meals included with the tour. We got spoiled at our first overnight hotel with a great supper and outstanding breakfast prior to our departure.
    March can bring some wintery weather but we had good luck and most people were prepared.
    The downer of every distant tour is of the travel time required to reach your destination. And the airport security checks were not fun.
    All-in-all we had a good group of people to tour with, an excellent tour guide and interesting sights to see. I would have liked more (or less) time in some of the cities but that may just be my preference.
    cbinsd / Parent
    Springfield SD / Posted on March 14, 2016
  9. Beautiful

    Overall, it was a great trip! I really liked Heidelberg and had a great time in Salzburg, especially the trip through the salt mine. I would have done the tour of the mine all over if only to get to go down the slides again! It was great to be able to see Rothenberg with everything being so similar to how it was hundreds of years ago. I would have liked to at least be able to go into the criminal museum in Rothenberg in our free time, though, but they didn't open until after we had to leave. Munich was fun, but I could have done with a little less time there. The ride across the lake and up the mountain was great in Lucerne, and we had a good amount of free time there. It was nice to see a university town like Heidelberg, and things were more reasonably priced there. Although I would have split up the time between cities differently, it was a good trip, and I definitely hope to go back some day.
    Ella / Student traveler
    Yankton, South Dakota / Posted on March 14, 2016
  10. Trip Review

    Otto was a wonderful tour director who gave us great insight into the experiences we were having and the things we were seeing. Would like to recommend that seats rotate on the bus so that everyone has a chance to sit in the front and in the back and by rotating people get to talk to and meet others on the tour. Thought the first day when we stopped at Rothenberg and then drove some distance to the hotel only to drive back to Rothenberg the next day was not very efficient. But enjoyed everything else about the trip.
    Anothertraveler / Other traveler
    Orlando. Fl / Posted on March 14, 2016

Interested in this program?

Or do you want to explore other options?