Compiled and reviewed by Bazaarvoice™

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.

Average Rating: (4.8 out of 5)
45 reviewed Environment & Culture in Costa Rica
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
  1. Awesome trip!!

    Gustavo our tour guide was amazing, friendly and super educational. Manuel (Banana) our bus driver did an amazing job of keeping us safe and from place to place. We were also blessed to have Tamara from the EF office in Boston on our trip and she was a welcome addition to our group. She was very informative, friendly and fit right in with us like she had known us forever.
    EBO1 / Student traveler
    Wise, VA / Posted on June 02, 2017
  2. Absolutely exhilarating!

    This was my first time traveling abroad and this experience has helped me to become more globally sound and wanting more!
    Abuela / Student traveler
    La Grande, Oregon / Posted on May 03, 2017
  3. awesome trip

    the trip was a once in a life time opportunity. I am glad I took it.
    red1 / Student traveler
    Upland, California / Posted on March 29, 2017
  4. Great tour, so-so guide...

    Our tour was wonderful. Informative and interactive. Great schedule, and fun activities.

    Unfortunately, our guide was extremely rude and not fun to be around. He was also very insulting. I hope that next time I go on a tour, I will get a better guide.
    Adventurer1996 / Student traveler
    Riverside, CA / Posted on March 27, 2017
    Erin, President of EF College Study Tours
    EF College Study Tours

    Hello, although I’m glad to hear you had an overall positive experience in Costa Rica, I am very sorry to hear that you felt your Tour Director was rude and did not live up to your expectations. We would love to connect with you to hear more about this so that we can continue improving the experiences our travelers have abroad. Please feel free to give us a call at 877-485-4184 or email us at [email protected] if you’d like share more. We’re looking forward to hearing from you.

  5. Costa Rica

    Overall excellent. The guide was great, places we went were amazing. Negatives- You need to evaluate how you put groups together. This was a community college paired with a private Christian college. Differences in life styles as well socioeconomically. Did not mix that well. No problems, just not much connection. Would be better to pair community college with community college etc. Also, the food was adequate but far from good in most situations. The last negative was in San Jose. We went to 2 souvenir places and then to central market. The 2 souvenir places were over priced and not authentic. I think it would have been a much better experience for the students to go to the central market for a couple of hours and get their souvenirs as well as have an authentic experience.
    Spmag / Group leader
    Winchester, CA / Posted on March 27, 2017
    Erin, President of EF College Study Tours
    EF College Study Tours

    Hello, thank you for your feedback about your recent program in Costa Rica. I am glad to hear that your experience was excellent overall, and understand that you had concerns about the group dynamics, food, and itinerary in San Jose. We do our best to pair compatible groups and to create the best experience for our travelers, and we would love to hear from you so that we can continue improving our programs. Please feel free to email us at [email protected] or to call us at 877-485-4184. Thank you!

  6. Awesome Experience in Costa Rica

    It was fascinated and awesome experience in Costa Rica. I strongly recommend you to visit Costa Rica if you want to learn their conservation and culture.
    Caleb / Group leader
    Riverside, CA / Posted on March 27, 2017
  7. Unforgettable Trip!

    There is nothing in the world that would have prepared me for the amazingness that this trip provided. From the City of San Jose to the rain forest and to the beach Costa Rica is the most beautiful country I have ever visited. The amount of conservation efforts of the entire country is putting forward says a lot about the sustainability that is happening in this country. I recommend doing this trip 1000 times over.
    Bubba / Student traveler
    Hayward, California / Posted on January 30, 2017
  8. Inspired

    Our tour guide changed my life with his intelligence and energy. He taught me about Costa Rica's amazing biodiversity and culture as well as about Ticos and the ideas they value. That knowledge I gained inspired me to keep those values in mind as I return to my home country and continue on in my everyday life. I am so grateful I had this opportunity because it expanded my perspective on the world and I cannot wait to travel again.
    cschu / Student traveler
    Schaumburg, Illinois / Posted on January 18, 2017
  9. Awesome trip!

    Unbelievable experience! The trip was so well organized. We were busy all the time without being rushed. Great entertainment and activities every day. Fantastic tour guide and bus driver. I felt very safe. Wonderful information and very educational. BTW You can't possibly pay our tour guide, José, enough! He is incredible and deserves a big raise! Roger our bus driver is also amazing. They make a great team!
    Horse2water / Other traveler
    Newville, PA. / Posted on January 20, 2015
  10. Majority of the time-well done!

    I would highly recommend this trip to my friends. There were a lot of positives to this trips with only a few bumps. I really enjoyed the hotels we stayed in. The food was just okay. I would have liked to have seen more cultural based food, rather than pasta and fries. I would've liked to seen more fresh food as well, because I know they are very well known for their fresh fruits. I highly enjoyed all of the tours we went on. The zip lining and horse back riding was my favorite part of this experience. I thought there was too much time in the bus though. I don't know if there is any way to make less of the travel time around the country but it was brutal somedays. Although I must say we had a good tour guide and bus driver that allowed for rest area stops, which helped break up all the rides.
    / Student traveler
    Massachusetts / Posted on January 14, 2015

Interested in this program?

Or do you want to explore other options?