Compiled and reviewed by Bazaarvoice™

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.

Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
25 reviewed Urban Environments & Culture in China
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. Non- Stop Cultural Immersion-

    The tour was well put together, very engaging and so intensely enriching.

    The Great Wall was breathtaking and a highlight of the trip! The food journey was exciting, especially having the opportunity to find your own food, we had the opportunity to try some great and interesting food.

    All of our tour guides were very knowledgeable and personable and answered the many questions of the delegation easily.
    Kira / Other traveler
    Washington, DC / Posted on September 07, 2018
  2. Amazing Experience

    I was not sure what to expect!

    In the end, I was overwhelmed and pleasantly surprised.
    / Other traveler
    Detroit, Michigan / Posted on July 27, 2015
  3. Great trip for the most part

    The trip was amazing and saw a ton of extremely cool places and was able to take a ton of pictures and go shopping at many places I'm not familiar with in the states. However the group I was in (considered a small group) was about 24/25 people and this caused for us to be late almost constantly. Had the group been 5-10 people smaller it would've been much more efficient for the group to travel around and it would make the TD's life much simpler.
    Shark / Student traveler
    Potomac, MD / Posted on July 26, 2015
  4. An Experience You'll Never Forget

    This trip is one that you will never forget. EF Tours does an excellent job with all the logistics. My one and only beef is the quality of the Hotels... for the money we paid, the accommodations could have been much better. Other than that, it was a fantastic experience!
    JKnows / Student traveler
    Posted on April 07, 2015
  5. Good Experience

    This trip was quite interesting. To me the most important factor that made the trip beneficial was the Tour Director (TD). He was very informative, knowledgeable about the history of China and able to put into proper perspective in world affairs. He was also a patient and a very genuine kindhearted fellow.

    I have been an avid reader of history, but nothing one has ever read or seen in a movie can prepare one for the magnificence of the great wall of China, the opulence of the Forbidden City, the crazy pace of urban development in cities like Xian, or the friendliness of the Chinese people.
    Grego / Student traveler
    Hammond, IN / Posted on March 05, 2015
  6. China Global Practicum

    The trip to China was amazing. The Forbidden City, the parks, the history, the Great Wall, the World Finance Center, the Bund, and the Terracotta Warrior museums were part of my favorites on the tour, but there were many other sites to see that were good as well. Our tour director was outstanding, as were all of the tour guides selected in the various cities.

    The only reason I did not rate it a 5 is because it was cold and rainy for certain days of our trip, and we were still going to certain events. I think there should be a back-up plan or a way to move activities around to account for the weather as several of us did not have umbrellas and got sick after being out in the cold and rain. The experience itself, however, was a 5.
    dlos / Student traveler
    New Orleans, LA / Posted on March 03, 2015
  7. China for Beginners

    Overall the trip was amazing and it just got better and better. The history of Beijing was interesting but I did not care much for the city; it was very spread out and hot and smoggy. The Great Wall was an experience though. The weather improved and Xian was truely amazing; biking on the wall and seeing the Terra Cotta warriors in the excavation pit and museum. Shopping in Xian at the Muslim bizarre was a unique experience. Shanghai was great-a real urban experience, upbeat, modern, and lively. The clubs were fun, the music plentiful. Shopping was good too. Finally, Hong Kong was the best. It rained alot but the city was exciting, the food and shoppping good, lots of sights like the Great Budda and the cable car ride were lots of fun.

    If I had any suggestions, I would say one activity in the morning and one in the afternoon is about the right activity level, or perhaps some optional excursions could make the experience a bit better. A bit of built in free time would have been nice. By dinner time we were exhausted.

    EF tour leader was fun and knowledgeable.
    Fuggie / Student traveler
    Washington, D.C. / Posted on July 18, 2013
  8. Unforgettable Experience

    The trip to Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai in March 2012, (not 2011), was an amazing experience. Not only did we get to experience the culture of the people living in all three cities, but we got to experience the in-depth history of how all three cities came to be what they are today. The flight to Beijing was quite long and excruciating, it was extremely long. Nothing EF tours can control, but for advice for future students who want to take this tour to bring homework, books, and definitely a pillow and an iPod for some comfort on the plane. Our tour guide was amazing; he was very helpful, especially when it came to the language barrier. Being an Environmental Science major, it was quite interesting to see the sustainability side of China. Although there is quite a lot of pollution and smog in the area where we went, solar panels on the roofs of houses surprised me quite a bit. Between the Great Wall, Terracotta Warriors, shopping in Shanghai, the Buddhist Temples, and the Garden, I think the Great Wall had to been the best experience out of the whole trip. Not only do you get to see the Great Wall, but you get to experience the pleasure, or discomfort to some, of walking the Great Wall that stretches far across the land. It was simply breath taking. The trip being 9 days was a little long; personally 5 days would've been better for me. Although everyone was extremely tired at the end of the day, having a full-packed schedule everyday was something I liked very much. Students complained about not having enough free time, which I agree 100%, but the optional activities, to do other things, was nice. It's better to have a full-packed day, than sit in your room for the rest of the day and do nothing or get lost in a city that you don't know. The food in China was amazing, way better than any Chinese restaurant or take out in America, but at times breakfast became a little difficult. Let’s just say noodles and rice isn't something I would have every day for breakfast, I missed my pancakes and eggs. Besides the language barrier, pollution, and the not-so-Americanized breakfasts, the trip was unforgettable.
    Smalls / Student traveler
    Jackson, New Jersey / Posted on March 22, 2012
  9. Beyong Amazing!

    This was one of the best tours I have had in my lifetime. It was amazing to see the real China. They did not sugar coat anything. What we saw was mostly how China really is. I loved every minute of it! The only thing that sucks is getting up early, haha. But other than that, everything is perfect.
    PandaMan / Student traveler
    Ewing, New Jersey / Posted on March 20, 2012
  10. The Far East

    Overall this was a very good educational tour and one of my best experiences in China.
    Sooner / Group leader
    Tulsa, OK / Posted on June 01, 2011

Interested in this program?

Or do you want to explore other options?